Annemarie (Ambika) IJkema

Brussels
Belgium
Average: 4.4 of 5 stars

12 Reviews

Annemarie IJKEMA (Ambika) is a certified Sivananda hatha yoga teacher (200 hours RYS). In 2014 she completed an 80 hours yoga alliance teacher training course by Sarah Powers on Yin & Yang yoga and mindfulness. In 2015 she completed a prenatal and postpartum TTC by Carla Anselm. In 2016 she completed the Yin Yoga fundamentals course by Joe Barnett (30 HRS) as well as the Sivananda TTC refresher course.

She’s been teaching yoga since 2010 on an ad-hoc basis, and since 2012 regularly at the Sampoorna Yoga Studio and the EU Council.

Her classes are 60 or 90 minutes, based on the 5 points of yoga: proper exercise, proper breathing, proper relaxation, proper diet, positive thinking & meditation.

Yoga is an integral part of Ambika’s life as she’s dividing her time and energy between her marketing consulting work for EVA (vegetarian organisation) & teaching yoga so helping people living a more happy and healthy life.

She lives a vegan lifestyle as this corresponds perfectly with the Ahimsa value of the yoga tradition & with her own values and yoga practice.

Ambika is available for both individual as in-company group classes upon request.

Rating

Average: 4.4 of 5 stars

12 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Why I like Ambika’s yoga classes

Ambika’s a fantastically energiizing yoga teacher. She’s teaches Sivananda yoga with this great capacity to make you go through the essential asanas at a tonic and swift pace and yet give every asana the right time to be done properly and be enjoyed enough. No rushing just for the sake of energy. It’s full concentration on the asanas - no blabla. Yet it’s all fun and seems accessible and easy.

more

She’s keen for pupils to progress and when she feels a pupil wants encouragement to go a little further or hold longer, she’ll spontaneously “be there”. I come out of her classes relaxed AND energised. She has a stress free yet light and fun way of teaching. She’s also super knowledgeable about leading a healthy lifestyle and has given pupils guidance on a healthy yogic diet as well.

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaSeptember 11, 2018
Thank you dear Hanna

My dear yogini, I miss you in class. Hope all is well with you & looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you so very much for your kind words. This is why I teach yoga, to help create the energy & blissful feeling with students. I'm super happy to read that it's working for you. Sending you lots of love & light. Om Namah Shivaya, Ambika

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great yoga experience

I have been attending Ambika's classes for two years now and I can see how it has improved my flexibility, my physical form and how it helps me deal with stress at work.
It is always a great experience!

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaFebruary 21, 2018
Wonderful

Dear Cecilia, that's so wonderful to read! I'm very happy that the classes have given you those positive results. Keep up your practice and I'm looking much forward to continue to accompany you on your yoga journey. Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great teacher

I really enjoy classes with Annemarie. She is very friendly and kind and helped me develop a yoga practice and be more in tune with my body. I highly recommend her! Looking forward to her next class :)

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaFebruary 16, 2018
Thank you :-)

Dear Alexandra, thank you very much for your kind review. I'm very pleased to read what yoga has already brought you. See you very soon again :-) Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 4.0 of 5 stars

This is my first teacher so I can't really compare with other ones but I really like her.

Thank you yogi

Dear Michael, thank you very much for your review! I'm glad you like the yoga classes. It's really wonderful to see your progress in class & I'm happy you feel good about your practice. Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
that's how a yoga teacher should be!

I like Ambika's classes very much. A regular practice under her guide helped me regain and then improve my good shape, flexibility and health. She is a real teacher, very competent, sensible and respectful. I really feel in good hands with her and after her classes I always feel very good, regenerated, stronger and "comfortable" within my own body! Thank you, Ambika, for your passion!

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaNovember 14, 2016
Grazie mille

Dearest Valentina, thank you so much for your wonderful words. I'm very grateful to have met you, as you're a beautiful soul and human being. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 4.0 of 5 stars
Great Teacher

Authentic, passionate, being of service, and empowering others, that's, in a nutshell, how I would describe Ambika. I came to know her as a very serious teacher who get's the best out of her students. It’s this exchange of energy between teacher and student, from one kindred spirit to another, that keeps the ancient tradition of yoga alive. Therefore, taking a class with Ambika is very recommended. Dirk

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaNovember 30, 2015
Om Namah Shivaya, thank you blessed soul

My dearest yogi Shambu, thank you so much for your wonderful words of praise & wisdom. You are an enlightened soul and I wish we could spend more time together learning from each other. However, we are connected on a deeper level, so I feel blessed to have met you. Wishing you lots of love, light & peace. Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Professional, devoted and very kind teacher

Very experienced, devoted and communicative teacher with a great heart for yoga and her students. Professional 'building-up' of the lesson, in respect for the mind and body. Very nice balance of rest/breathing/relaxing on the one hand and movement/effort on the other. Great follow-up of each individual student.

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaAugust 21, 2014
Wow, thank you so much !

Thank you so much dear yogini for this kind and wonderful review. I'm happy to see you back in the class after your holidays. Have a wonderful and peaceful day :-) Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 4.0 of 5 stars

very enthusiastic teacher giving excellent Yoga sessions

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaAugust 17, 2014
Thank you :-)

Dear Jan, thank you so much for your review! Looking forward to seeing you in class again soon. Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

Annemarie is a very warm and good teacher, with a lot of attention for each individual. She explaines the exercises very well, makes adjustments when neccessary and often with humour ("keep smiling!"). She has a gentle voice to lead you through the excercises. Love to do yoga with her!

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaAugust 17, 2014
Thank you so much

Dear Sandra, thank you so much for your kind review. Looking forward to seeing you in class again soon. Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 3.0 of 5 stars

Ambika is full of energy and very focused. She'll inspire you on going after your happiness!

Average: 4.0 of 5 stars
great, enthusiastic teacher

annemarie regularly follows courses herself and her yoga teachings are always evolving and becoming more profound and intense. great & warm teacher

Annemarie (Ambika) IJkemaAugust 14, 2014
humled

Dear Kris, I'm humbled by your fantastic review. Thank you so much. Looking forward to welcoming you again in class. Om Shanti, Ambika

Average: 4.0 of 5 stars
Review Annemarie

Annemarie is always very helpfull, friendly and also not to spiritual. For me it's just what I need for my yogalessons.