April Nunes Tucker

Tortola
British Virgin Islands
Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

17 Reviews

I teach Ashtanga and Yin yoga.

I have a PhD in dance with an expertise in human movement analysis.

I am a recognised Senior Teacher by Yoga Alliance UK and have been teaching and practicing yoga for over 20 years.

My website is:

I have free audio classes on

And video classes on:

Family yoga online at:
Family yoga teacher training:

Rating

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

17 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Fantastic Yoga Teacher

I've come to know April through her Big Dog, Little Dog yoga class when I was looking for a parent/child class to practice yoga with my daughter. We both love our Sunday lesson with April especially our 1:1 time together but also the clever way April weaves in yoga teaching to a younger audience in a very fun class. April's Yin yoga class is also excellent, deeply restorative. I've found April to be a very patient, inspiring, knowledgeable teacher who also brings an element of light and humour to her teaching. Wonderful classes!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
The Big Dog Little Dog yoga class

This yoga class is fabulous and I love having this time solely with my son. My 6 year old little boy loves this class and gets great enjoyment from doing yoga, especially as he gets undivided attention from his Mummy! This class brings such closeness between my little boy and I, its special. And April is absolutely lovely and so good with the kids in the class, giving them lots of positive comments and this certainly helps to boost my sons confidence; plus April makes yoga lots of fun. What an enjoyable way to learn yoga!

April Nunes TuckerNovember 25, 2014

Dear Jackie
Thank you so much for this review! I love having the two of you in class! I think it helps when you get a fantastic parent-child team like you and Sam to boost the energy in class and make yoga a thing that is both fun and accessible from any age! With any luck you'll get to sneak out to an adult class in the new year. Sending hugs to you both! x April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great teacher!

April is a very friendly, kind teacher. She demonstrates, adjusts and explains, all with an element of humor which is refreshing! She's very hands on and her understanding of the body and how Yoga may help any particular issue is very clear. Great teacher!

April Nunes TuckerNovember 25, 2014
Dear Sarah

Dear Sarah
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy busy schedule and write a review for me. I greatly appreciate it. I am glad that you've found your introduction to yoga to be such a positive one especially in light of injury. Hopefully after the madness of Christmas we can see more of each other in classes. Sending love, April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Fab & Friendly!

A genuinely caring yoga teacher who offers an inspirational and caring class.

April Nunes TuckerNovember 25, 2014

Dear Alison
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. Missing you! Hopefully winter means I'll see more of you! Sending a hug! x April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Yoga with April

April is a wonderful teacher and inspires me to try to improve. I hope to attend more of her classes.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Wonderful, generous, experienced teacher

I've popped three of these in the middle because April is a very balanced teacher who tailors her approach to the individual in front of her, adapting her style to demonstrate and/or explain, choosing the appropriate approach depending on the situation. She is friendly, warm, kind and generous with her experience and knowledge, and highly professional. April draws together the physical and spiritual practice of yoga which make the classes a combination of physically demanding, energising and uplifting.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Inspiring teacher

I first met April when I was in the midst of quite gruelling and lengthy cancer treatment. She showed me kindness, care and love and re-ignited my passion for yoga. I was in a dark place but she brightened my life and for that I'll always treasure and hold her dear.

April Nunes TuckerNovember 18, 2014

Dear Annette
Thank you for taking time to join yoga trail and write me a review. The first time I saw you practice I didn't know about all the treatment you were going through but I saw a beautiful lady working with incredible open-ness on her mat. I think the best way to describe you doing your practice is like watching an internal energy move you as opposed to you moving your body around. I continue to be inspired when I see the softness and calm that you bring to your practice (even to such a demanding form such as Ashtanga!) Thank you for blessing my life with your presence in my classes. Sending love, April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Brilliant

I love going to Aprils yoga classes. She's very informative when teaching and always look forward to going.

April Nunes TuckerNovember 17, 2014

Dear Heather
Thank you for taking time to write me a review. I always look forward to seeing you too! I've moved into a new studio in Sandridge from this Thursday - hope to see you soon! Sending a hug xx April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
So thankful to have found April!

I turned up to April's sunday morning class at the beginning of the year never having practiced Ashtanga Yoga. I'm a working mum and was just looking for something for myself for an hour a week - and boy did I find much more than that thanks to April! I found a wonderful inspiring teacher who was welcoming and patient. I was in awe of her love for the practice from the start.

more

April is a dedicated teacher who is keen to understand her students strengths and weaknesses and works with you to achieve your goals. Yoga can give you so much more than a weekly workout and you can discover all kinds of things about yourself. When April's class changed to MYSore i must admit i was a little nervous as i had only been practicing for a few months but with April's continued support my confidence grew and I began to realise what a totally different element this brings to your personal practice and development. I'm incredibly grateful to April and her wonderful classes - Thank you! X

April Nunes TuckerNovember 17, 2014
Dear Natalie

Dear Natalie
Thank you for taking time to write me such a thorough review. I am so happy that you have found so much more in your practice. You have worked so hard and with such focus and devotion. I am privileged to be here with you on your journey through the practice.
Sending love
April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Excellent

April makes me feel very safe that she knows exactly what she's doing Clear at explaining and clever tips Welcoming open and fun. A great yoga teacher

April Nunes TuckerNovember 17, 2014

Dear Anne
Thank you for taking time to review my teaching. It is wonderful to see you every month at the Yin/Yang workshops and even despite going on about your thoracic spine yesterday you still think I'm clear in my explanations! Wonderful! Always a pleasure to have your joyful energy in the room -- thank you for working so hard. Sending a big warm hug! April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
An amazing teacher

April is a wonderful teacher and I just wish I could get to get classes more regularly. Warm, inspiring, dynamic and graceful, she teaches in such a way that you feel empowered and challenged. I feel lucky to know she is shaping my yoga journey.

April Nunes TuckerNovember 17, 2014

Dear Natalie
Thank you for coming on to yoga trail to write a review. I know other aspects of your life are taking priority at the moment and I know this is the way it goes sometimes. It will be great to have you back in class when you can make it. Thank you for all the hard work you have put in and I look forward to giving you a great big squeeze when I see you next! xxxx April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
The best teacher I have worked with

April's approach combines the spiritual and the practical in a very friendly way. She encourages you to try new things but never pushes you to do anything you are uncomfortable with and puts your safety first. She brings excellent and interesting ideas to our classes which help enrich your practice. I cannot recommend her classes highly enough.

April Nunes TuckerNovember 17, 2014
Dear Tricia

Dear Tricia
Thank you for this kind review. Hope to see you in my new studio soon! Perhaps new year!? Sending love, April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Wonderful teacher

April's adjustments are gentle yet extremely effective. Her passion for yoga oozes from her and it's infectious! Highly recommend.

April Nunes TuckerNovember 17, 2014

Dear Lorraine
Thank you for this lovely review! Was wonderful to see you Saturday! Thank you for working so hard. Sending a big squeeze! xx April

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Yoga with April

To really understand yoga you need to understand your body.
For many classes I have attended time wasn't taken out to explain how yoga comes from within, April explains and shows how postures deepen through knowledge of your body. I always leave her classes with a little more knowledge and a deeper respect for my body.
Thank you April

April Nunes TuckerNovember 17, 2014

Dear Sam
Thank you for this review. It has been so lovely to be able to work so closely with you and to see your practice evolving because of your consistent focus. Great to see you on the mat today for yin.
with love, April

Pages