Chris O'Brien

Decatur, GA
United States
Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

21 Reviews

I'm a certified Iyengar Yoga teacher in the Atlanta area and enjoy teaching beginning and intermediate students, mostly in Decatur/Emory University area. I love seeing students work to transform themselves - one pose at a time - through Iyengar Yoga! Please go to my website for an up-to-date class schedule.

Rating

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

21 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Knowledgeable and intelligent teacher and writer

I am a teacher-colleague of Chris, located 300 miles distant from Decatur, GA. I rarely have a chance to experience her teaching, but I benefit every week from her writings. Her messages to students sometimes address an aspect of yoga philosophy and how it relates to our everyday lives; other times she focuses on the physical and emotional effects of a particular type of asana. Her comments are always direct, intelligent, encouraging and thought-provoking. Thank you, Chris!

Average: 4.0 of 5 stars
Chris O'Brie

I've known Chris for more than 5+ years, and it's been a joy to witness and experience her growth and development as an Iyengar yoga instructor. I appreciate her thoughtful and thought-provoking weekly guidance messages to the class (before we meet), and also enjoy the fact that we have an easy communication about many things. She gets the right balance between being light-hearted, empathetic and serious and encouraging us to challenge ourselves.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Yoga...yes, with Chris

Chris does a yoga class at our workplace. We do our best to arrange our schedules so we can attend. Chris is great! She is responsive to the group's needs, but pushes us when she knows she can. For new poses, she tells us, shows us and then helps us do it to our best ability. She is totally focused on safely and will make adjustments for just one of us, if necessary to ensure a safe session. We've grown closer as a group because of the discipline of yoga. I would recommend Chris to anyone interested in learning yoga or continuing the practice.

Chris O'BrienJanuary 13, 2015

Thank you for those kind words, Carolyn! Hope to see more of you in 2015 :)

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Patient Teacher

Chris was my first experience with instructed yoga three years ago and is my teacher today. She has been encouraging through my various physical problems that can be discouraging (various injuries and other aging related issues....). With her patience and teaching style I have been able to do accomplish a lot.

Chris O'BrienJanuary 13, 2015

So glad to share those trials and tribulations of life with you and a few of the ways that yoga can help to cope with those :) Love the Wednesday morning crew, even though getting up early is a challenge in the winter months.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
my introduction to Iyengar yoga

I have practiced yoga with Chris for five years or so. Her classes help my yoga practice with corrections, encouragement and engagement of body, mind & spirit. She has been the instructor that encouraged me to move from attending yoga class to the discipline of daily home practice. She has also been the inspiration to me to explore what has been handed down and written by the sages.

Chris O'BrienJanuary 13, 2015

Wow, 5 years, that is amazing to me. And you're amazing to me, especially the way you've manged your shoulder situation while keeping the yoga spark going!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
A fabulous Iyengar Yoga Instructor

Chris O'Brien, is an amazingly gifted instructor who has definitely put in a lot of hard work to develop a versatile skill set. She does an incredible job of creating an environment where the energy flow is so warm and positive. She is a well rounded and extremely knowledgeable yoga practitioner who understands all of her students acute issues. And make the appropriate accommodation for each student so everyone can get that personal attention. I’m always astounded at her knowledge of the yoga sutras and how she applies them to each class. I would highly recommend her….

Chris O'BrienJanuary 13, 2015

It's the inspiring students like you that keep it all going strong, Derrick! Now that I've met your mom I can see where you get that trait. . .

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Chris is great!

Chris's classes are generally on the smaller side, so you get a good amount of personal attention. If you have an injury or other physical problem, she will adjust your exercise accordingly. She will give everybody plenty of time to make sure that body position is correct, but won't be a stickler who refuses to move on until everyone is perfect. I enjoy her classes a lot!

Chris O'BrienJanuary 13, 2015

It's the curious & fun students who make a class, thanks for being one of those, David!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Excellent, caring yoga instructor

I have been taking yoga with Chris for about 3 months now. She is very knowledgeable and always so in tune with the needs of each student in her class, making modifications when needed, giving assists, encouraging but not pushing beyond where each person should go. I like the combination of explaining and demonstrating that Chris incorporates into each pose. I've learned so much from her already.

Chris O'BrienJanuary 4, 2015
Thanks, Alco!

BKS Iyengar had an incredibly deep understanding of yoga & I feel fortunate to have teachers (Kathleen Pringle and Kquvien DeWeese) who are thoroughly steeped in his methods. We all work diligently to try and bring him to life in each and every class, in each and every student. It's never ending learning & new horizons for Iyengar teachers and students, thanks to his dedication to this subject.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Chris is my best yoga teacher

Chris is an excellent yoga teacher. Always with a cheerful voice, she focuses on guiding us achieving perfect (or better) body alignment in any pose she teaches, using demonstrations and anatomical explanations. The class is always in a moderately slow pace, so the students have time to practice and digest each pose. The order of poses in one class is always from less-demanding ones to more strenuous ones. Every time in her class, I learn and improve.

Chris O'BrienJanuary 4, 2015
Thank you, Hank.

I'm looking forward to resuming our classes at WPEC after the holiday break!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Good, straightforward instructor

Chris provides clear direction on the various poses that we do each session. She is also very kind and is a good example for calm behavior.

Chris O'BrienJanuary 4, 2015
Thanks, Richard.

I'm glad Diane C recommended you & your family to give the classes a try!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

Chris brings a holistic approach to her teaching. Her fundamental instructions are what I enjoy the most, delivered with clarity & calmness. She brings an extra perspective with her which I always enjoy & benefit from when I receive her instruction

Chris O'BrienJanuary 4, 2015
Thank you, Marian.

Look forward to seeing you after "the season". Glad you've got a thriving home practice & classes with Kathy K to get you through!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

I always enjoy taking Chris' yoga classes. She really is educated in Iyengar yoga and with her nursing career has a medical understanding of the body as well. Depending upon which area of the body is focused on for that session, I can feel that every muscle, tendon, ligament, etc. in that particular area has been stretched, strengthened and revitalized.

Chris O'BrienJanuary 4, 2015
Thanks, Connie.

Hope to see you in class soon!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Iyengar Yoga, Decatur, GA

About 5 years ago I found a nearby yoga class that Chris teaches. One of many things I have gained from Chris's instruction is that yoga is about practice not performance. She is an excellent teacher who creates a calm, focused environment in class and always encourages and adapts based on individual situation.

Chris O'BrienMay 8, 2014

Thank you, Yvonne. You and the other regular students make the classes what they are. Students like you who venture out a little and go to workshops with senior teachers benefit even more!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Skilled and Encouraging Teacher

When I first met Chris O'Brien, I told her that I had tried yoga several times over the past 30 years (I'm almost 60 years old), but had never felt comfortable for a myriad of reasons. Chris encouraged me to try Iyengar yoga with her and I'm so glad I gave yoga another try. Chris is a supportive and encouraging teacher. I trust Chris to ensure my safety and encourage me when I feel discouraged. This is my fourth year of taking classes with Chris. I highly recommend her as an Iyengar yoga teacher.

Pages