Kelli Russell

Encinitas, CA
United States
Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

22 Reviews

Eleven years ago, I started out as a counselor because I wanted to help people live the best life possible, but I found that talk therapy was a lot of rehashing old wounds, often met with resistance. I’d taken up yoga at about the same time and noticed how students often walked in with slumped shoulders and downcast eyes, but 1 hour later left smiling, vibrant— exalted! I decided I could more effectively help others through the medium of mindful movements, and decided to become a yoga teacher instead.

I do yoga because it makes me feel like the superhero of my own life: able to handle any challenges that cross my path, slaying negative thoughts and patterns, feeling confident, brave and strong, better equipped to help those around me.

I teach yoga because I believe that if I can help you move through challenges in yoga with grace and a little humor, feel more comfortable in your own body and mind, and increase your health, then we’ve done something amazing together.

My classes are usually strong, nurturing, empowering, creative, sometimes more on the fun side /sometimes more focused; all designed to derail you from your auto-pilot patterns and move you into mindfulness so that you can live the best life you can imagine.

I’m a 500-RYT Vinyasa Yoga Teacher with over 3000 hours of teaching experience and additional certifications in Anatomy & Biomechanics of Yoga from Dr. Raymond Long, Yin Yoga with Paul Grilley, and Budokon Yoga with founder Cameron Shayne. I’ve led many workshops on Yin Yoga, Meditation, Safe Wrists/Strong Core, Utilizing Props to Support Your Practice, Intelligent Sequencing, Breathwork and Meditation, Yoga for Horse Riders and Yoga for Runners. I assisted the Budokon Yoga Teacher Training at Ra Yoga, Los Angeles, taught at the Yoga Rocks the Park event in San Diego, 2014. I currently co-lead the Vinyasa Arts 200hr Yoga Teacher Training Program, and will teaching master classes at the City of Hope’s retreat funding cancer research at the Pala Resort and Spa April, 2016.

Rating

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

22 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Exceptionally - uniquely original

young - dynamic - like a breath of fresh air
Extremely caring, overflowing with positive energy, brings great music, gracious,
lots of "light", free flowing, creates a relaxing and inviting setting, like how she demonstrates the more difficult positioning

Kelli RussellOctober 29, 2014
Thank you!

I really appreciate you taking the time to review me! I hope that I'll get to see you in class sometime soon! XOXOXO

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great Teacher!

Kelli is an experienced teacher who is present for her students. She creates her classes so that they are challenging, but at the same time you don't feel like you are in a yoga regiment. I appreciate the thought she puts into changing up her classes so that its not a predictable routine each time. Kellli is super friendly and easy to approach.

She has a good "yoga voice". I think this is very important since a lot of the time you're not staring at the teacher but listening. I can't take the teachers who are yelling at you or the teachers that have that breathy-airy fairy voice either. Kelli has a calm, instructive, and caring voice.

Go to her class!!! You won't regret it.

Kelli RussellOctober 13, 2014
Thanks Louise!

It's been such a pleasure getting to know you and David and watching your yoga practice progress over many months. Love that you practice together too. You two are so awesome!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Amazing energy; Delightful to practice with

Kelli is one of my favorite yoga instructors. She has a wonderful, kind, caring energy and always makes the classes fun. She is very knowledgeable about the body and alignment and makes certain to provide alternatives for those with injuries.
I highly recommend taking a class or two or one hundred with Kelli - her flows in Power flow are always exciting!

Kelli RussellOctober 13, 2014
Aw, thank you!

What a sweet review. Thank you so much. See you in class soon I hope!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

Kellli is very knowledgeable, love her classes ;)

Kelli RussellOctober 13, 2014
Thanks!

Thanks Natalie! XOXOXO Love it when you and Will come to class. You are both so focused and dilligent in your practice, plus super sweet, super awesome human beings!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
You have not done Yoga until you've taken Kelli Russell!

I was first attracted to yoga because I met Kelli and wanted to look like her. I was taking a lot of cardio/weight lifting classes and was happy there but didn't have the body I wanted. I had tried yoga before and it was just not a fit for me or so I thought. Really I had just not found the right teacher. I finally gave in to my curiosity about Kelli's classes and all I could say to myself after the first class was WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG TO TAKE KELLI'S CLASS????!!!

more

Kelli was the perfect mix of tender yet firm, fun and playful, challenging and wise. I felt happy, strong, calm, inspired, uplifted and GREAT when I left her class and all I could think about was when could I get more! Kelli is the best yoga teacher ever. There could never be better!

Kelli RussellOctober 13, 2014
Jenny!

Thank you so much, my sweet, sweet friend. I appreciate you so much and all of the ways you've supported me with your encouragement, kindness, and just about everything else. You rock!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
A teacher that facilitates growth and expansion! <3

I am with so much gratitude towards this wonderful human being for really helping me grow in my yoga practice! My practice would not what it would it be today if it were not for her guidance. Her classes feel great in my body and challenge me enough if not more to come back every week! She may look sweet on the outside but she will guide your body intelligently in practices that will really help you grow as a yoga practitioner!

more

She is also very intelligent being and continues to blow my mind with words of wisdom that she shares during her classes that really have meaning in my life. If there is one teacher that I gravitate to the most, it is hands down Kelli Russell! I look forward to every single class every week and in what she has to offer!

Kelli RussellOctober 8, 2014
Ah Charles, thank you!

It has been an honor and a pleasure watching you move from the seat of the student to the seat of the teacher. Your passion, keen interest, willingness to try anything, positivity, and levity are infectious. Taking photos with you is so much fun! I cannot wait to see where you go next in this yogic journey! All the best to you my friend!!!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
My favorite yoga instructor

Kelli is a TRUE yoga teacher! The practice she cultivates has the perfect blend of a kick-ass challenge that will make every yogi grow some equanimity and spiritual, meditative elements that help focus on intention. What I especially appreciate is the variety between her classes and the effort she put in to to keep classes fresh, challenging and fun.”

Kelli RussellOctober 8, 2014
Thank you Pearl!

I am so inspired by your inquisitive approach to yoga. You bring attention, stick-to-itiveness, calm presence, and sweetness with you wherever you go, whether in the yoga room or out. I am looking forward to the opportunity to take YOUR class sometime soon sweet yogini! I am so honored to know you.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Motivating!

just looking at her lean and super toned body makes me want to work harder! Beautiful both inside and out.

Kelli RussellOctober 8, 2014
Thanks Kyoko!

Boy are you one to talk- with your stunning physique! You are so sweet Kyoko! Lots of love to you my friend!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
You are lucky to Have Kelli lead your practice

Kelli is an amazing yogini with a loving heart and caring demeanor. She cares about each student and greets you with a smile. I am honored to practice with Kelli, I wish I could practice with her more.

Kelli RussellOctober 7, 2014
Thank you Marla

I really appreciate your review. Love seeing you each Tuesday at Yoga Six! You rock the house in power flow!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
She is amazing!

Kelli is a wonderful yoga teacher. She truly cares about her students and creates an environment that welcomes everyone. Each class is carefully and intelligently planned to provide a safe and inspirational yoga experience with all the physical and emotional benefits. No matter which style of class she may be teaching, I leave the room filled with gratitude and appreciation.

Kelli RussellOctober 6, 2014
Sherri you're the best!

Thanks so much. I love having your intense focus, calm state of being and "ready for anything" attitude in class! You rock!!!!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Don't miss Kelli's class

From the moment you enter the studio you are being taught and lead by this amazing mentor. She is kind, specific, respectful and incredibly motivating. With the perfect balance of demos, adjustments and verbal cues you will find yourself inspired, challenged and uplifted by her class.

Kelli RussellOctober 6, 2014
Thanks Christa!

I love your sweet upbeat energy and mad yoga skills that you bring to class. Energy is elevated as soon as you walk in the door with that killer smile of yours! XOXOX

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Best Instructor Ever

Kelli is the reason I got interested in Yoga- her classes are so amazing - And she always helps you get into the correct position - without making you feel like an idiot for doing it wrong! She always gives different options for different yoga levels - and doesn't push students to go anywhere outside their comfort level.
She is wonderful and you will love her class!

Kelli RussellOctober 6, 2014
Jennifer!

I am so glad that you were able to find me at Vinyasa Arts!!! I missed seeing your sweet face each week! I hope to see more of you now : ) Lots of love,
Kelli

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great teacher!

Kelli is an amazing teacher. She teaches a challenging class with great options for all skill levels. One thing in particular that is especially great with Kelli is she reminds you not to take yourself too serious and that it's ok to try new poses and push yourself, even if you fail or fall, it's ok! She also introduces new and interesting poses and keeps each class interesting.

Pages