LauraLynn Jansen

Hampton, VA
United States
Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

12 Reviews

Yoga as a full practice entered my life over two and a half decades ago as part of her healing regime to cope with a cancer diagnosis. Surviving cancer gave me a thirst to live life to its fullest at a young age. This yearning led me to obtain a master's degree in Integrative Health Education from the California Institute of Integral Studies, certifications as a Co-Active Life Coach, and extensive history in nutrition and fitness.

In 1999, I did a solo quest to Nepal and India where I serendipitously obtained my teacher certification in the Sivananda tradition. A deeper understanding of the physical aspects alongside the numerous other layers involved in the traditional practices associated with a yogic lifestyle, in the country of its origin provided me with insights I still carry with me as a teacher. Over the last decade I've turned my focus of study to mindfulness, breath attention, proper core engagement, alignment and practical life-supporting philosophy, mostly through studying Anusara.

I have offered yoga to a diverse student population form cancer patients to at-risk youth and military members to novices and seniors.

Today, I combine the experience and knowledge of my amazing life journey in all her work. I am the founder of Strengthening From the Core, an Integrative Health Coaching practice, a multi-faceted approach to aligning life and wellness. I also recently co-opened a yoga studio, Yoga Elements, on the Florida panhandle.

In 2006 the Lance Armstrong Foundation recognized me with the LiveSTRONG Challenge award for my dedication to cancer awareness and determination to broaden the definition of health. In 2011 Athleta choose me as one their Inspirational Athletes. All these recognitions only sweet cherries on a life I was destined to live as a survivor.

I am still a health proponent of all that is possible from the inside out as I teach from her my mat, in the air, in the water or on a paddleboard.

I'd love to share the elements of yoga with you. :)

Rating

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

12 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Walking the Walk

I am honored to say that I have had the pleasure of practicing Asana, along with Mantra & Meditation with the cosmic LauraLynn.

This woman's source of wisdom, coupled with her zestful and vulnerable approach to life, make her the instructor you WANT to spend time with. LL doesn't only "practice what she preaches", but she does her very best to live in her truth; in every way. This is what Yoga is supposed to be about, if you ask me. THE IMPLEMENT AND PRACTICE of these philosophies that add joy, clarity and fulfillment to our daily lives.

Go. Give yourself a chance to connect with a human being who not only has 20+ years of experience, but who is wide open and willing to be a source of love and light.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Isn't she lovely?

Laura is a truly wonderful teacher. Her love and passion for yoga sets good vibes for every class she teaches. She has taught me so much and I am very grateful I have gotten to absorb some of her energy and knowledge. She makes me feel comfortable even if the asana is a difficult one I hold on to her voice and she guides me through. Thankful. I am very thankful for the positive light she is and continues to be ♡

LauraLynn JansenApril 13, 2017
Dear Ariel

Thank you so much. I have so enjoyed into using you to this new world of yoga whether it is in the air, on the mat Doing asana or sitting together exploring mantra. Really nice having you in classes when I move from the island.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Newbie and loved it!

Being new to yoga I was apprehensive to take a class with such an experienced yoga instructor. Lauralynn quickly made me feel at ease and didn't make me feel like a yoga idiot. She has a way of making you feel so welcome and explains and shows each technique while also reassuring everyone that we are all different and may need to adjust to our own needs and bodies. I have taken three classes with Lauralynn from inside a boutique to on the shores of Oahu beach to an aerial class. All classes were different but all fantastic. I always leave Lauralynn feeling stronger physically and mentally. Wish I could workout with her more often.

LauraLynn JansenApril 9, 2017

LIz thank you for sharing your experience of my teaching with everyone!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
SUP Yoga Awesomeness

I had the pleasure of taking LauraLynn's SUP yoga classes while I lived in Hawaii. It was a totally new experience for me but with LauraLynn's expertise, enthusiasm, and passion for yoga and the water she had me hooked in 2 seconds! I am now living in Memphis and really, really miss those SUP yoga classes :(

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

Keeping it simple~ supportive, challenging, compassionate~anyone taking a class w/ LauraLynn will not be disappointed!

LauraLynn JansenOctober 31, 2014
Smile

Is what happens when I read your words and remember our times shared in learning. Thank you for taking a moment to share with others your concise experience of me in the teacher role. :) Sending love to ya!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Lives and teaches with great compassion and integrity

LauraLynn is the kind of teacher you will be telling all your friends about. She combines skill, with the capacity to teach and create a space where each student can practice safely, gain body awareness, and play his/her own edge. Unforgettable.
I am so glad to have been her student.

LauraLynn JansenOctober 31, 2014
Unforgettable

Is a student like yourself Phyllis so brings all she has to the mat and every day life. Thank you for reflecting back teachings to me! :)

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Makes me brave

LL is great at building/inspiring confidence in your abitities. I took eary morning dawn Paddleboard yoga with her last year. A beautiful experience with a beautiful teacher and person. She is respectful of your limits but encourages you to take that extra challenge for yourself. I also was lucky to start two New Years with a yoga class with her. Her practice of providing a mindfulness threaded braclet on the first day of a new year is so nice. Thank you LL for all you do!

LauraLynn JansenSeptember 29, 2014

Thank you so much Sharon. It was always such a treat to have you as part of that new your ritual. I will miss having you there this coming year. Unless of course you comes the New Year's in Hawaii?!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Wish I would have come sooner.

I took a few SUP yoga classes with LL right before her big move to Hawaii. The only regret I have is that I waited so long to train with her and skipped out on her SUP teacher training because it was so cold that day (I am a wimp in cold weather now but was raised in the north). LL is a challenging, compassionate, experienced teacher and overall amazing woman.

more

As a yoga teacher myself I appreciate how she gives her students space to be playful and recognize their own greatness while guiding them through difficult postures. Even in just a few classes she taught me new tricks and showed me some poses I had never done before. It was great to get on the board out in the water, best savassana ever, so peaceful. I like SUP yoga because it humbles me and makes me feel like a beginner to yoga all over again. She will be missed in our yoga community but we are excited for her new adventures.

LauraLynn JansenSeptember 29, 2014

Emily I too wish we could've connected sooner and been able to build a bond both S didn't teacher and teacher teacher. I hope you continue to enjoy all your practices.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
A true friend

LauraLynn is a truly authentic, kind, considerate, loving, compassionate, funny, fun-loving, adventurous, encouraging person. Her agenda is completely transparent. She wants to help people feel good, strong and supported inside and out. When I met LauraLynn I had to have my husband carry my paddleboard because I didn't have the confidence or the strength to do it myself. After a few months with LauraLynn's encouragement I discovered a strength inside myself that as she lovingly reminds me was there all along. LauraLynn has taught me so much about yoga and about making time to take care of myself. It has been a pleasure practicing with her.

LauraLynn JansenSeptember 29, 2014

And it was (there all along) and always will be! Big gratitude for taking the time to let others know about your experience.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Prepare for the best hugs of your life!

LauraLynn Jansen, LL Cool J, is by far the very best teacher I have ever had the pleasure of studying under. She is very interested in the safety of her students, but she also helps you to see that you are capable of achieving more than you thought before. She creates an environment that supports your vulnerable side and allows you to play that edge in confidence that she is right there with you.

more

She too shows her vulnerable side sometimes, showing her heart to us all and allowing us to really see how a true yogi lives. She has very creative classes that help you to learn your own body on a deeper level and to understand why certain asanas may be difficult, giving you the tools you need to achieve whatever your heart desires. LL also helps to create a strong sense of community within her classes which carries off the mat as well. I have met so many amazing people because they were her students as well. She also, if you hadn't read the title, gives the best hugs ever. She really sees her students and has so much love and compassion. She also does a lot of volunteer work within the community helping under privileged teen girls, sea turtles, and homeless children. She is a beautiful person, inside and out, and is one of the strongest women I know. If you get the chance to practice with her, jump on it! And give her a hug from Panama City Beach, FL!

LauraLynn JansenOctober 31, 2014
Let Your Heart Be Known

Thank you for letting us know what is in your heart. I am grateful for your thoughts, feelings and words here. I truly know that all you acknowledge in me is within in you (how else could you identify it?). :)
I so look forward to the next time we practice together again.
Big Hug to you my dear fellow yogini.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
LauraLynn

One of the most friendly individuals I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Every class i attended LauraLynn made it a point to speak to everyone on a personal level. Her classes were also the most fun. Being that she is such an authentic teacher, class dynamics are rich and full of life. You will definitely smile more then once in one of her classes. LauraLynn creates a space that will both challenge you and make you feel permissive enough to work with your edge. LauraLynn is a person that embodies Yoga in and out of the studio. Through her volunteer work and her other endeavors, all centered around helping to empower individuals, she manifests the practice on and off the mat. You will not be disappointed with this teacher.

LauraLynn JansenOctober 31, 2014
FUN Indeed!

And I miss having that fun with you Peter. I look forward to watching your integration of yoga into your life. And I am hot onto a new volunteer idea that any yogi may wish to be a part of, so thank you for acknowledging that deep passion in my life (to be of service). Big Hug to ya Bra (as they say on the islands).

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
The best

Lauralynn is the best yoga teacher around. Her knowledge, patience and inspiration she brings to classes is wonderful. Her beautiful personality and love for yoga shine through in every class she teaches. You won't ever want to go to another yoga class unless she is teaching it! She is the best.

LauraLynn JansenMarch 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing how you experience my teaching. <3