Lora Markova

Hudson, MA
United States
Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

12 Reviews

I have been practicing yoga around the world for well over a decade. Having personally enjoyed its tremendous physical and psychological benefits, I decided to help others experience them, too. In 2012, I spent a month in Sri Lanka, training vigorously under the veteran instructors of Yoga Arts RYS. I walked away with a Yoga Alliance RYT200 Certificate, and a wealth of wisdom and practical teaching skills.

I focus on using deep, full breaths to gently flow through a sequence of postures, carefully designed to stretch, strengthen, and open different areas of the body. While my classes are slow and strong, I always gives my students a range of options, so they can move at their own flexibility and ability levels. My subtle, hands-on adjustments are designed to both deepen and improve the students’ practice. My classes will help you increase your physical and emotional awareness and you will walk away feeling reenergized, rejuvenated, reconnected and refocused.

I am currently registered with Yoga Alliance as a RYT200, and am in the process of obtaining a Registered Prenatal Yoga Teacher certification. I teach regularly at The Core Connection studio in Northborough, MA.

Rating

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

12 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

I look forward to Lora's hot yoga class every week! She is an experienced teacher who makes all levels feel comfortable and challenged. She is friendly and approachable. She has inspired me to deepen my practice.

Lora MarkovaJuly 23, 2016

Thank you for the nice words, Christine! I miss you in class this summer and hope to see you soon. :)

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
She is awesome!

An instructor can totally make or break the class for me and Lora is the reason why I have been steadily going to class for 2+ years now. She does such a great job of explaining every move and nuance that you don't even need to watch her (even though she is demonstrating everything). She gives adjustments/feedback if needed. Some other classes I've been to are very "choppy" and I would constantly look at the clock, Lora's classes flow so well that the 75 minutes fly by so quickly that I wish they would last longer!

Lora MarkovaJuly 18, 2016

Thanks, Jill! YOU are awesome! I love having you in class and talking care of your ham strings. ;)

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

I love Lora's yoga class and teaching style! She is very friendly and welcoming. She tailors her class so that it is accessible to yogis of all levels. I love that she always switches up the class and takes requests so each time we work on something different. Her cues and adjustments are always very helpful! I always look forward to Sunday's class and would definitely recommend taking one of her classes!

Lora MarkovaApril 20, 2016

Thank you so much for the kind words, Elayne! I always look forward to having you in class. You bring in such wonderful energy and grace to your practice and I love being able to point to you as an example. :) Also, thank you for continuing to bring friends to class!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great Yoga!

Lora is a fun enthusiastic teacher who is dedicated and very careful about her instruction. She is excellent at cuing and reminders to get everyone into the proper alignment so they get the most out of each pose and the whole class.

Lora MarkovaMarch 7, 2015

Thank you, Faye! It's always a pleasure having you in class.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

Amazing is a word I would use to describe Lora's class. She is a knowledgable instructor who truly listens and supports her students. I highly recommend taling her class.

Lora MarkovaMarch 7, 2015

Thank you, Christine! I am so happy you decided to take the plunge into yoga and are enjoying its benefits. You are making fantastic progress! I look forward to seeing more of you in class.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
To Lora

Everyone knows that changing your lifestyle has to be a personal choice.
Lora makes your feel supported, revitalized, challenged and empowered without judgment

Lora MarkovaMarch 7, 2015

Thank you, Janice! You are so kind. I am honored to have played a small part in your transformation, and I am very proud of your dedication and the progress that you've made.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Lora "gets" yoga

While some teachers just go through the motions, Lora finds each asana's benefit. She pushes the student with gentle humor & subtlety of movement so that by the end of class, the student is lengthened, strengthened & centered. She is a rare teacher!

Lora MarkovaMarch 7, 2015

Thank you, Deb! I really enjoy having you in class and seeing that gentle smile of satisfaction on your face at the end of every practice. You are truly dedicated and it shows!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
calming, stretchy and strengthening class!

Lora manages to fit so much in her classes, a good amount of time to calm the mind to begin, then a sequence of poses to open and safely achieve more than you thought possible. Her classes can challenge and are always rewarding. I have been to many different yoga classes and Lora is one of my favorite teachers.

Lora MarkovaMarch 7, 2015

Thank you, Sam! You've captured the true essence of my classes. It's exactly how I want you to feel about them and I'm so glad you do. It's always wonderful to have you!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Clear, supportive instructor

Lora is very clear in her instruction. She is aware of issues that people have and will point out alternative variations of poses. She is encouraging and supportive. She has a direction and will take the class through movements so that by the end I can do poses that under other conditions I wouldn't be able to. I feel like my practice has grown with her guidance. Because of the way that she takes the class through I can do more, and I more aware. She is also a very lovely, warm person.

Lora MarkovaMarch 7, 2015

Thank you, Lisa! You are so kind. It's great to see how much you have progressed over the past year and a half. I hope you can see and feel it yourself. And thank you for always helping me put the room back in order. You are amazing!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great, active yoga teacher

I thought I didn't like yoga until I took Lora's Slow Flow class. She is proof the instructor makes all the difference! Her style is more active than a lot of other yoga classes I've taken and requires some endurance. Her class is always challenging without being overly difficult. Lora is also great at demonstrating, explaining, and making adjustments during class to make sure you're getting the most out of your experience. She's also a lot of fun and she brings a great attitude to every class.

Lora MarkovaJanuary 26, 2015

Thank you, Michelle! I always say that for every student, there is a teacher, and I am so glad you've found yours. :) It's been so great having you in class and feeding from your energy and positive attitude. I will definitely miss you in the front row when you move away! I wish you all the best of luck and please come back soon.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Simply the Best!

Lora is committed to her craft and is a terrific teacher.

Lora MarkovaJanuary 26, 2015

Thanks, Irene! It's a true pleasure having you in my class. :)

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Amazing teacher for all abilities!

I started yoga with Lora and I was terrible in the beginning. I could not even hold downward facing dog for more than 15 seconds. She has helped me improve while teaching me proper technique and challenging me. It's now been almost two years and I am so much stronger and flexible. I look forward to yoga every week. If I miss a week I regret it because I am not as calm and do not feel as good. Lora is a fantastic teacher and I am so lucky to have found her!

Lora MarkovaJanuary 26, 2015

Thank you, Amy! You and your sister have come such a long way since the first day you walked into my class. It's so gratifying to watch the changes you've gone through from the front row. I am so happy you came into my life and hope to continue having you both in class for a long, long time!