Lucy Hunter

Edinburgh
Midlothian
United Kingdom
Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

11 Reviews

I have been teaching yoga for many years having originally trained in Iyengar. And later in Pilates with the Pilates Institute. My emphasis is on precision, moving from the core and paying attention to the biomechanical aspects of the body. John Stirk's Structural Fitness has been an inspiration. I offer 3 regular classes a week as well as private 1-1 sessions. I have become adept at working with different levels especially remedial and my classes are friendly and informal and not too big.

My reduced teaching schedule has allowed more time for my writing I produced and directed one of my plays at the Edinburgh Fringe 2015 and I am currently working on a novel - a spiritual odyssey with humour - I hope! I also lead Rambler Family Walks, and set up Edinburgh Buggy Walks with my business partner. My bliss is pottering about on my allotment.

You can email me on

Rating

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

11 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Experienced, attentive, warm and welcoming

As someone of a larger build, for a long time the thought of joining a Yoga group was frankly terrifying to me. Lucy made me feel comfortable and let me be confident in my own skin. She meets the needs and requirements of everyone in her class, making sure that every body will have the best experience they can have. Her joyful and caring nature creates a beautiful atmosphere and her professional demeanour makes you feel safe. I now have been going to her classes for several years and have benefited greatly from it

Lucy HunterMarch 29, 2019
๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•

Such a joy to have you in class Achim and all the welcome additions of sound healing you have brought into my life.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Top Marks!

If your looking for a humble yet very accomplished Yoga instructor look no further. Lucy's classes are for everyone - novice to yogi! There is always an insightful programme of yoga and pilates each week which seem to progress slightly in ability each week giving the student grounds for confidence and encouragement throughout the term. Lucy has an indispensable gift of observing what your body requires, which exercises it craves for a lasting re balance and giving you every encouragement to find these without too much pain and sweat! In summary, you cannot go wrong here!

Lucy HunterJanuary 28, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words Jon

and many blessings, Lucy

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Really Looks After Her Students

Lucy gives an incredible amount of individual attention to each students in her class. It's like having your own private one-to-one teaching session! She seems to remember each students strengths and weaknesses, making sure no hurts themselves and helpings student adapt the positions to their body's current ability.
It is no surprise that she has students who have been coming to her for years!
As a new student I felt most welcomed into the class.

Lucy HunterJanuary 31, 2015
Looking forward to being back

I've been missing you all but back Friday! Xx

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Best yoga teacher you will find in Edinburgh

Yoga is about balance and Lucy strikes the right balance for every one of her students, every class. Definitely!
Lucy is a greatly experienced teacher who looks at the individual as a whole. She adapts her knowledge and skills to every person's physical need as well as their personality.
Her classes are always varied and stimulating and she pays lots of attention to every student and their needs without making them feel awkward. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and anyone who attends for the first time feels welcomed.

Lucy HunterJanuary 31, 2015
Back next week

Hope to see your lovely self!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Varied classes

As a newcomer to Yoga, I have very much enjoyed Lucy's classes. In a class with students of variable amounts of yoga experience, she manages to give us all individual attention. None of is pushed too far: she is watching us all very carefully, and knows exactly what our bodies are doing, and where we'll be feeling eg a stretch.
Also, no two classes are the same -- you never know what you'll be asked to do next. Great variety!

Lucy HunterJanuary 31, 2015
Back next week

Back to normal routine next week look forward to seeing you all soon!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
lucy's yoga

Lucy is brilliant. She has mixed ability classes and time for everyone. She doesn't miss a thing. There is no hiding from her!
Yoga also works on the mind and you slowly find tension and stress levels reducing, and a greater sense of well being. all part of self care. You start to manage and cope with things with an increasing ease and become increasingly enriched in body mind and soul.
Thank you lucy

Lucy HunterOctober 15, 2014
Thank you for your persistence

Both in your practise and as it turned out in getting this review up! It is always a pleasure to have your cheerful presence.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great Yoga

I always enjoy Lucy's yoga sessions and leave invigorated and enriched. Her teaching style is perfect for me: she helps you find the 'pose within the pose' where the body's energy is easily accessed; she is wonderfully intuitive to what the class and each individual needs - helping each get the most out of each session; and she has a great sense of humour too!

Lucy HunterSeptember 30, 2014
Sense of humour

Well you bring that out in me Tom! An absolute treat to have you in the class.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

I love my yoga class with Lucy!! I have being going to her classes for almost 20 years now and there hasn't been a class that I haven't enjoyed.
Her classes were a great help during both my pregnancies and now that the joints are starting to ache and flexibility is not what it used to be I appreciate them even more.

more

I believe Lucy is an excellent teacher: very patient and intuitive. She is very aware of every student's body and she works according to this. Sometimes she pushes you harder, sometimes she allows you to have a breather when she notices that your body is a bit tired.
I also enjoy the fact that she comes round and makes sure that your are doing the right thing. She is very particular and she cares for every one of her students. I heartily recommend her.

Lucy HunterSeptember 30, 2014
Can it really be nearly 20 years!

Thank you Roser. A tribute to yoga that we have both continued to practise so steadily for such a long time. Long may we continue.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

I've been practicing yoga for 20 years and my first class with Lucy, 6 or so years ago, was a revelation - I have not encountered such an experienced and intuitive teacher before. I can not rate Lucy's classes highly enough, I always come away feeling great.

Lucy HunterSeptember 24, 2014
Bless you Sarah

Namaste is often used too glibly in yoga circles however that is what I feel on reading your beautiful words.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Exceptional good yoga teacher

Lucy is an exceptional good yoga teacher. Very passionate. Very attentive. Takes constantly care that everybody in the class is doing the exercise properly. She will go around and make sure that you take up the position correctly. She will demonstrate the exercise but then clearly explain how you can archive to do the exercise correctly. The class is very satisfactory as you learn to activate body muscles you have neglected to use. Very enjoyable. I can only highly recommend.

Lucy HunterSeptember 24, 2014
Attentive student

It has been a treat to see your progress over the months and now years. Xxx

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Amazing

I would say Lucy is both body focused and spiritual. She is professional and inspirational pushing you to the limits of your abilities, still leaving you full filled. Her classes are most enjoyable and are always over too soon.
I have been going to her classes for many years and have also attended others where there has been no input from instructors or body correction carried out.
Lucy is a hands on teacher and safety conscious.

Lucy HunterAugust 10, 2014
Thank you Olive

You are a pleasure to teach as you listen to instructions and incorporate the asanas into your own body so you work from inside out. Just what I try to teach!