Shaaron Honeycutt

Charlottesville, VA
United States
Average: 4.9 of 5 stars

66 Reviews

Owner and Director of Allied Yoga, Shaaron is a certified Intermediate Iyengar yoga instructor and has studied in India at the Iyengar Yoga Institute three times. She apprenticed with senior Iyengar teacher John Schumacher in Bethesda, MD, and has attended numerous workshops with senior Iyengar teachers from across the country and abroad. She has also studied Iyengar Yoga intensively since 1998. She also teaches a special Parkinson’s class at the Charlottesville Senior Center. Shaaron’s dynamic and methodical style offers compassionate challenge with humor, while encouraging students to move beyond perceived limitations and open to their own inherent greatness.

Rating

Average: 4.9 of 5 stars

66 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
leader for iyengar in Charlottesville

Shaaron runs a peaceful, safe yoga studio with skilled teachers friendly open atmosphere. Clean, restful, small studio. Strong following of yoga students of all ages.

Shaaron HoneycuttApril 10, 2017
our community -

Hi Ruth -
We have such a great community due, in large part, to wonderful students like you! I appreciate your time in reviewing and look forward to when our paths cross again,.
Appreciatively,
S

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Shaaron Honeycutt

Shaaron is a very experienced teacher, with whom I have been studying for more than a dozen years. She has the right balance of challenge and acceptance of students of all ages and levels of practice. While sometimes irreverent, she approaches yoga from an essentially spiritual perspective. One can attend her classes from either an exercise or spiritual perspective, and she will give you her best instruction.

Shaaron HoneycuttApril 4, 2017
thank you so much Chris!

I appreciate you taking the time to submit the review of me and my teaching. I hope irreverence, in this case, is good. Anyway, I've love having you in class all these years, both of us have grown through our shared experiences. It is with great appreciation for my students, such as your self, that I learn, grow and love teaching Iyengar yoga even more.
love, hugs and yoga, S

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
excellent teacher

Sharon was host to an Iyengar Yoga Certification assessment weekend. I took one lesson from her prior to the assessment and was most impressed by her clear and methodical teaching. As a host she was extremely friendly, made all the candidates feel very comfortable and relaxed and was extremely encouraging. If i were to go back to her city I would definitely attend her classes.

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 27, 2017
high praise from another Iyengar yoga teacher...

Thank you Camille! I'm really glad that you got so much from my class. You came during what could be a stressful time and I'm really glad I could make your time in Charlottesville more comfortable. Best of luck to you in your teaching and I look forward to when our paths cross again!
hugs, love, and Iyengar yoga!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Wonderful teacher!

Shaaron is a great instructor. I really appreciate how she watches and teaches perfect form. She also educates her students on the spiritual principles of Yoga. She is lighthearted and a lot of fun.

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 27, 2017
thank you Mary!

I so appreciate your review! I love having you in class, too... it's students like you that my job not seem one at all and an absolute pleasure!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Amazing, warm and wonderful Shaaron

I tried to move the sliders, but they didn't work....anyway, Shaaron is an outstanding teacher. She is energetic and funny, a talented yogi and someone you come to love like a friend. How many yoga teachers read poems to help you open up to life?

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 24, 2017
thanks Julie -

Hi Julie -
It's great to hear from you and that you've gotten so much out of time together in class! I love having you as a student and look forward to when our paths cross again.
yours in yoga - S

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Amazing angel

The best thing is how she cares!!!??

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 24, 2017
thank you!

Thank you Gigi -
I do care!
Thank you for your time and energies in submitting the review - I so appreciate it!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
excellence and depth

Shaaron and I were fellow students together 20 years ago as new teachers and I admire how devoted she is to the truth of the ancient teachings and making them apply to real life here and now for each person.

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 24, 2017
High praise coming from you -

Thank you Alex!
to paraphrase no one being a prophet in their own town... I'm so glad that we both have embraced the teachings of our teachers and taken them out into the world. I am inspired by you, my fellow teacher and friend, and glad I can, at least in some small way, live up to our long years of study and practice.

Average: 4.0 of 5 stars
Sharon rocks

Sharon is a kind and generous and dedicated teacher

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 24, 2017
thank you!

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. I look forward to our paths crossing again soon!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

Excellent teacher.

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 24, 2017
thank you!

Thanks for your time in submitting a review - I very much appreiateit!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
BOOK WITH SHAARON NOW! SHE IS AMAZING!

I tried numerous types of yoga and had a variety of teachers ranging from inexperienced to experience and non-spiritual to extremely spiritual; however, Shaaron is by far the best teacher I've had. Shaaron is very friendly and accommodating to individual needs. She adapts exercises to fit the needs of individuals. Her classes are also smaller, which is excellent since she can ensure safety but also challenge you. She is able to correct your technique when needed. Shaaron is very knowledgeable and experienced in yoga and is an absolute pleasure to work with. I highly recommend taking Shaaron's classes as she is by far the best yoga instructor.

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 24, 2017
Thank you, thank you!

Dear Cait -
Wow, such high praise! I'm SO glad that you got so much out of class. My aim is all that you've sighted in your review, and I so much appreciate your time and thoughtfulness in submitting it.
hugs, love and more yoga to you!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
THE BEST

Shaaron Honeycutt is the best yoga instructor for both my husband who has Parkinson's and for me. She explains, demonstrates and gives specific feedback while we're doing yoga... all with a sense of humor. We love her!

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 24, 2017
Thanks Patsy!

Thank you so much for your time in submitting the review and feedback.
You know how much I love my job and love having you and George in class. And, if you can't have a little fun, what's the point? ;)

Average: 3.0 of 5 stars
Review for Shaaron Honeycutt

Shaaron Honeycutt is a highly skilled and friendly Iyengar certified yoga instructor, whose classes have historically provided a distinguished balance of physical asana practice and philosophical teachings. She has consistently delivered well-sequenced classes to students with diverse levels of yoga experience/practice. She incorporates pranayama with asana and does an excellent job of meeting students where they are, while also inviting them to grow. Her teaching style is unique because she is a very dedicated yogi, who is committed to deepening her knowledge of this practice and shairng that with her students. She always gave me something to think in class and is an inspiration both on and off the mat.

Shaaron HoneycuttMarch 24, 2017
Students like you...

Hi Alex -
It's students like you that make my "job" so rewarding. I can learn so much from my students and they (and you) inspire me to be an even better teacher, in order to offer them even a glimpse of what they can be, requires me to truly walk the talk. I'm glad we have both had the opportunity to learn from and inspire each other!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

welcoming, great for drop ins, professional

Pages