Shawn Brow

Spokane, WA
United States
Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

11 Reviews

Founding Director South Perry Yoga, LLC
Staff Yoga instructor, Yoga Therapist, C-IAYT
Founding Director/Chief Anesthetist Twilight Anesthesia Services

Yoga is an inner journey of self-discovery. If we trust, and allow it's teachings to shape us, it provides a strong yet resilient foundation upon which to navigate the waters of life experience. Come they may, tsunamis, rapids, or deep calm pools, yoga brings us safely home to ourselves.
I am grateful to be part of the diverse, and wonderfully talented teaching staff at South Perry Yoga, where our collective mission lies in supporting the wholeness of community through honoring the uniqueness of each individual.
I believe yoga is as much an art as it is a science. While my teachings place value on structural alignment and pose modifications, they also allow for pure, creative moments of inspiration. Honoring this fluidity between opposing worlds of exactness and uncertainty, I believe holds the secret to keeping yoga fresh and ever present.

Rating

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

11 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Balance...Breathe...Community

Shawn is a very skilled yogi, She also is a very kind person, with a vision for building community. She offers a variety of Yoga experiences at her studio, that offer paths for individuals to make Yoga their own. I appreciate all that she has created at the studio and the variety of teachers she has found to provide such good, sound and creative yoga. Her medical background really helps to learn positive ways to care for the body. Thanks Shawn!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Great energy and awareness

The first class I took when I moved to Spokane was taught by Shawn. Since then I have spent my entire first summer at her studio. I am impressed with Shawn's knowledge as she explains poses and guides her classes through sequences, how she is thoroughly sensitive to the individual abilities of each yogi in her class and offers thoughtful modifications for each, and her candor, friendliness and grounded guidance. She is an inspirational part of our yoga community, and I'm so happy to have found her!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Clear understanding of the yoga poses

Shawn has truly inspired me to go further into my own practice. I feel so much more knowledgable about why we do these poses and the benefits to our body. She truly makes it all worthwhile!

Shawn BrowDecember 11, 2018

As one of my longest students, it has been my honor to share this journey with you! I look forward our continued practice, learning and sharing our 'ahas' along the way.
Namaste,
Shawn

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Amazing teacher

Shawn Brow is exactly the type of yoga instructor I have been looking
for. She is warm, friendly and funny; very detailed in her
explanations and demonstrations; and creates an environment that is
supportive rather than competitive. I also appreciate her medical
background and how she elaborates on the physiological component of
yoga.

Shawn BrowDecember 11, 2018

Thank you Amy for your kind words.
May your practice continue to guide you toward peace and equinimity.
Shawn

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
AWESOME teacher!

I've done yoga with Shawn on & off for 8 years & have worked with other teachers for at least 10 years before that--Shawn is my favorite! Besides her GREAT sense of humor, she pays attention to what aging or injured bodies need out of her class, she is a VERY skilled teacher & has a good sense of what her students are capable of (even when we are not sure).

Shawn BrowOctober 14, 2015

It is ever the joy to share this practice with you Becky at our Tues morning Flow! Thank you for your kind words, and for your ongoing support of our yoga community, from it's very humble beginnings.
Namaste,
Shawn

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Shawn Brow....awesome!

Shawn is an excellent yoga instructor! She is extremely knowledgable about yoga and anatomy. She goes out of her way to accommodate and make adjustments for physical limitations and enthusiastically provides individual feedback. Her classes are very creative and flow beautifully. Her calm presence creates a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. Oh yes, did I mention that she has a great sense of humor!

Shawn BrowOctober 14, 2015

Michelle,
Thank you for being willing to explore this wonderful tradition with me. May it help you find a sense of centering in the 'ether world' and enrich your creative artistic side!
Breathe,
Shawn

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Perfect Blend

Have gone to Shawn for 8 years-so experienced yet humble-Conscientious of varied abilities of students: challenges and offers modification all in same class!
Tremendous use of props if/when needed or to add extra challenge. A perfect
blend of yin and yang!

Shawn BrowOctober 14, 2015

Lee Ann,
I will always remember you as one of our first students from our days with the Haran Irish Dancers. You bring a wonderful energy and dedication to your mat, and I hope your practice continues to enrich your life in all ways.

Namaste,
Shawn

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Practicing with Shawn is fabulous!!

South Perry Yoga has been my yoga home for the past couple of years. The studio continues to evolve into the perfect space!!! Shawn is a wonderful yoga instructor. She is very careful to describe and demonstrate the asanas and flows. She watches carefully to make sure her students are practicing safely. Shawn has a great sense of humor and makes it really fun to participate in her classes. There is a wide variety of classes from beginner to flow to restorative. Shawn is careful to gear her classes to all levels. I am grateful to have discovered South Perry Yoga and Shawn Brow!!!!

Shawn BrowOctober 14, 2015

Lauran, thank you for your review. It has been so wonderful to have you in class, and watch your practice grow deeper through the years.
Thank you for your ongoing commitment and support of our studio!
May your practice continue to flourish, and bring you deep peace.
Shawn

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

I am in the Yoga newbies class. Have learned a lot. Shawn pays great attention to form and safety. Has good sense of humor. Shares personal experience with yoga. Provides information about each pose and incorporates 8 limb path of yoga. Bonus - print out of each session with poses, explanations, pictures of poses. Studio is warm, calm.

Shawn BrowOctober 14, 2015

Thank you for your comments here Patti. It is encouraging to know the 'handouts' are appreciated. Especially when it comes to the Sanskrit names, 'seeing' the name is half the understanding of it's pronunciation!

We miss you, and hope your life adventures keep a yoga mat close by.
Breathe and be well,
Shawn

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
A student orientated teacher

Shawn Brow is one of those rare people who have an innateness for dealing with others. she quickly picks up on the student's needs and addresses those concerns in an individualistic manner. this ability marks her as an outstanding teacher; who naturally and with simplicity moves the student forward.

Shawn BrowOctober 14, 2015

Having you as a student Lilly Susanne, has been a great source of growth for me as a teacher. It has been so inspiring to see you broaden and deepen your practice through i-Rest and Meditation. Your continued 'curiosity' which you bring to your mat, which makes my journey worthwhile!
Breathe in,
Breathe out,
Shawn

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Very nice , great teacher

Shawn has shown me so many ways to do yoga my way. She has taken time to show me how to do positions the right way, never once making me feel like I should have known this. Highly recommend

Shawn BrowOctober 14, 2015

Thank you for being my 'first' reviewer Lori! We have missed you at South Perry Yoga, yet it is good to hear that despite the schedule conflicts you are continuing your practice with others.
Be well,
Shawn