Sigi Kolbe

Swakopmund
Namibia
Average: 4.9 of 5 stars

10 Reviews

I am a certified Yoga teacher based in Swakopmund, Namibia.

I teach from my own studio in Oceanview, Swakopmund and c- - teach at Myoga Swakopmund.

I have been teaching for 13 years.

I am a qualified registered nurse, midwife with additional qualifications in Intensive nursing science. I have found my medical background has helped me immensely with my yoga teaching.

Rating

Average: 4.9 of 5 stars

10 Reviews

Write a Review
Demonstrates More
Explains More
Reserved
Very Friendly
More Hands off
Frequent Adjustments
New Teacher
Very Experienced
On the Wild Side
Safety Oriented
Body Focused
Very Spiritual

Reviews

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Best teacher in town

Sigi's classes are based on her vast medical knowledge and ability to respond to the needs of beginners and advanced students alike. She is a great motivator and also knows how to teach spiritual truth that is in harmony with the personal belief system of the students. She is also great in adjusting the speed of the class, from fast pace power yoga to very slow yin.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars

It has been a life enhancing experience to be one of her students. Spiritually and physically my life has been changed!
Awesome teacher!!

Sigi KolbeFebruary 16, 2016

Thank you so much for your love..x

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Life changer

Sigi got me hooked on yoga ;-) Her classes are a welcome escape from hectic days and a chance to build a relationship with my body and soul.

Sigi KolbeFebruary 13, 2016

thank you for your review :)

Average: 4.0 of 5 stars

Practicing yoga for the past 16 years of which 8 years with Sigi, and having experienced quite few yoga teachers before, I may say Sigi's level of teaching is very good and has improved steadily over the years. Her medical background gives her more concern about possible injuries and how to avoid them, her teaching is consistent, adapted to everyone, and always evolving towards new horizons, keeping it interesting and stimulating.I can only recommend her classes.

Sigi KolbeFebruary 11, 2016

thank you so much Audrey!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Yoga Classes

I love the classes and am always sorry to miss a class. These classes have helped me tremendously and i am now much stronger than I was, but still no where near where I would like to be. Pat

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
A teacher from Love and Light

Sigi's yoga has changed and reshaped my life more than any other activity I have tried before. Her classes have allowed me to become more in-tune with my body, mind and spirit, creating harmony most essential to overall well being. I am humbled by the amazing feats that she has helped me achieve and overcome through proper demonstration and always keeping a watchful eye, making sure we align correctly and safely. Her explanations are concise and expertly conveyed.

more

I take my practice and what I learn from it and incorporate it into every aspect of life, creating more peace, harmony and dedication. She is a roll model and an inspiration to me and so many others, simply by living what she teaches and relating to us through experience and understanding. Her teachings help us to break our mental complexities, simplifying our approach to build ourselves up to achieve our highest potential on the mat, and away from class. No matter if you are a beginner or an advanced yogi, you will walk away lighter, feeling strong and able to take on any challenge the world has to offer you. I believe yoga is a solution to many plights we face in our daily lives, be it body ailments or mental blockages. Her classes are an escape from the madness, a sanctuary where I can ground myself, connect with my fellow yogi's, building friendships, laughing together and rewarding each others achievements. I highly recommend yoga at Urban Zen to all! The energy she creates, resonates. Namaste

Sigi KolbeSeptember 23, 2014

Your thoughts and words have touched me deeply. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
namaste
x

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Yoga is a way of life

I started yoga with Sigi just over a year ago. I can go into how, I'm fitter physically, how injuries and aches I've had trouble with have all but disappeared or even how I can touch bits now that I couldn't even see before! but that's the magic of yoga in general. The magic of Sigi is she keeps coming back for you, she checks you, challenges you and encourages you. She cultivates a deep need to get the most out of the pose, the class, yoga, and YOURSELF.

Sigi KolbeSeptember 23, 2014

thank you kindly for you review Rachel..

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Just what I needed

After accepting a job in Windhoek I had been looking for my kind of training possibilities and I am happy that I found Sigi's yoga. Though I had never done yoga before, flow of movement and use of breathing were very familiar from my own long-time hobby back in Oulu. Sigi is definitely one of the best instructors I have met. Besides being good exercise, Sigi's yoga sessions provide nice escape from work for me. I like her way of instructing and the very friendly atmosphere of the place. After yoga I always return home relaxed and feeling good. It's just great!

Sigi KolbeApril 13, 2014

always good to see you make the yoga class Tuula!

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
Her classes have become part of my essential lifestyle

From the way the classes are set up, the atmosphere created by her as well as the ever organic sequences and asanas and spiritual guidance, Sigi's classes are exactly what yoga is all about. She has a love and passion for yoga which is absorbed by all her students. The international visitors concede that her classes are world class. The classes never get mundane and she is always inspiring us. There is also a lightness to the classes which give a sense of camaraderie; this brings me back time and time again. I have been doing yoga under Sigi's guidance for more than 7 years. It's a blessing in my life. Highly recommended to anyone and everyone, regardless of age, sex or fitness/flexibility level.

Average: 5.0 of 5 stars
A serene yoga corner in Windhoek

I have been going to Sigi's classes for about 7 years. She has a lovely outdoor studio under a large thatched roof where I have spent many a shavasanas listening to soft rain or just breathing in the scent of her lush garden. When I started on my own journey to a teacher, she was a supportive mentor who helped me along the way. She offers a variety of styles and her classes always leave you feeling wonderful whether it be a power yoga or yin. I still drop whenever I can.

Sigi KolbeMarch 12, 2014

Thanks for the review Liezl!